Rush, the band. A Motivational Playlist

Blog post from Luke Laurie’s Teacherblog: https://lukelaurie.wordpress.com/

The music of Rush has long been a motivating force in my life. I was captivated in my teen years by the hard-rocking, rhythmically complex music, and the truly geeky philosophical lyrics. I enjoyed the references to literature, science fiction, and history, and especially the themes of perseverance, atheism, integrity. I’ve grown to appreciate many more progressive rock bands, but I still come back to Rush from time to time when I want to feel that drive.

I’m really looking forward to seeing this year’s tour and the new Rush album: Clockwork Angels

Below is a setlist of some motivaional Rush songs with a few selected lines of lyrics. There are links to youtube videos. The years are from the album release date.

I get up at seven, yeah
And I go to work at nine
I got no time for livin’
Yes, I’m workin’ all the time

Well, I can see what you mean
It just takes me longer
And I can feel what you feel
It just makes you stronger

You can be the captain
And I will draw the chart
Sailing into destiny
Closer to the heart

Begin the day with a friendly voice
A companion, unobtrusive
Plays the song that’s so elusive
And the magic music makes your morning mood

You can choose a ready guide in some celestial voice
If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice
You can choose from phantom fears and kindness that can kill
I will choose a path that’s clear, I will choose freewill

Science, like nature
Must also be tamed
With a view towards its preservation
Given the same
State of integrity
It will surely serve us well

No his mind is not for rent
To any God or government
Always hopeful, yet discontent
He knows changes aren’t permanent
But change is

All the world’s indeed a stage and we are merely players
Performers and portrayers
Each anothers audience outside the gilded cage

The boy lies in the grass with one blade
Stuck between his teeth
A vague sensation quickens
In his young and restless heart
And a bright and nameless vision
Has him longing to depart

From first to last
The peak is never passed
Something always fires the light that gets in your eyes
One moment’s high, and glory rolls on by
Like a streak of lightning
That flashes and fades in the summer sky

Hold your fire
Keep it burning bright
Hold the flame ’til the dream ignites
A spirit with a vision is a dream
With a mission

Freeze this moment a little bit longer
Make each sensation a little bit stronger
Experience slips away
Experience slips away
Time stand still

We are young, wandering the face of the Earth,
Wondering what our dreams might be worth,
Learning that we’re only immortal, for a limited time.

We go out in the world and take our chances,
Fate is just the weight of circumstances
That’s the way that Lady Luck dances
Roll the Bones

Why are we here?
Because we’re here
Roll the bones

Mistress of the dark unconscious
Mermaid of the lunar sea
Daughter of the great enchantress
Sister to the boy inside of me

You and I, we are strangers by one chromosome
Slave to the hormone, body and soul
In a struggle to be happy and free
Swimming in a primitive sea

Stick it out
Don’t swallow the poison
Spit it out
Don’t swallow your pride
Stick it out
Don’t swallow your anger
Spit it out
Don’t swallow the lies

Driven in…Driven to the edge
Driven out…On the thin end of the wedge
Driven off…by things I’ve never seen
Driven on…By the road to somewhere I’ve never been

You can never break the chain
There is never love without pain
A gentle hand, a secret touch on the heart

The measure of the moment
In a difference of degree
Just one little victory
A spirit breaking free
One little victory
The greatest act can be
One little victory

Leave a comment